Book Review: We Were Liars

WeWereLiars__140612011956-575x883

I read sort of obsessively. Meaning, that once I start a book and have a whole stack from the library ready for when I finish one, I can read five books in five days easily. But then I can just as easily be stuck on the same book for a month with no motivation to finish…I’m not exactly sure why. We Were Liars was the last book of a week-long reading spree. I was in the car driving up though Florida so I had a lot of time to kill….and reading this book beat studying for the SAT like I was supposed to be doing for sure.  And then after I finished it, I went back to the beginning and skim-read it all again, which was the first time I’ve ever read an entire book in one sitting twice. So anyway, here’s my review:

Cadence Sinclair Eastman’s old-money family appears to the outside world as if they have it together.  She spends summers with her cousins, her Liars, on an island off of Massachusetts. Until she has an accident. That’s probably the lamest and vaguest synopsis to ever exist, but this is definitely the kind of book that you want to go into knowing as little as possible about it. I picked this up without having read the description or any reviews, and that’s probably why enjoyed so much.

The strongest parts of this book were the writing style and the pacing/emotion. Cadence, who is narrating the book has an interesting habit of starting new paragraphs for every sentence. It could possibly be annoying for some people, but it worked for me! Here’s an example from the first chapters:

“I used to be blonde, but now my hair is black.
I used to be strong, but now I am weak.
I used to be pretty, but now I look sick.
It is true I suffer migraines since my accident.
It is true I do not suffer fools.
I like a twist of meaning. You see? Suffer migraines. Do not suffer fools. The word means almost the same as it did in the previous sentence, but not quite.”

Just as a caution, there was some cursing which got a lot worse towards the end of the book.  I recommend this book to those who love contemporary (is that even a genre? it should be!), less-than-perfect-but-all-the-feels endings (also should be a genre), and quirky prose.  I wish I could gush more, but you should probably read the book first (;

5 stars, and definitely a favorite.


have a happy Wednesday and I hope you give We Were Liars a try!

(p. s. For the record, I don’t recommend reading any book, no matter how lovely, twice through in one sitting if you don’t want a headache. Especially on a car trip.)

Leave a comment

Filed under books

I'd love to hear from you....leave a comment here!

